Shifted to Besant Nagar from Mandaveli

After nearly spending our time after marriage in a small apartment in Mandaveli for six months we moved to Besant Nagar to our new 2bedroom apartment on 18th of November 1968.Ours was the first block to be constructed and we occupied with my dad and my cousin and the place was looked like a desert with nothing available in the place.Even for shopping we have to go Adyar or shastrinagar to get our daily things.My wife was in the advanced stage of pregnancy and the date was fixed on 26th of Decemer 1968.There was only one bus was plying between Besant Nagar and Parry’s corner and I had to rush up every day to catch the bus at 9 am to go to my office in Royapuram where I was working.My office in Royapuram is 25 kilometers from Besant Nagar and while coming back in the evening I will be practically tired.
On 9th of December 1968 we went to attend a marriage in Nalvazvu kalyana mandapam in Llyods road and when we came back from the marriage Lalitha got pains and we had to rush her to the Hospital since there was no facilities available at Besant Nagar.She was admitted on 10th of December 1968 and our first child was born on 13th December 1968 and she was named Aruna which is also the name of our Apartment since she was the first child in the block.My dad,myself and Lalitha were very happy with the new born.We moved to the new apartment “Aruna”on 19th of May1969.since I was going by bus I was very tired while coming back home in the evening and I thought it is better to have a two wheeler to save my time and also some more of my precious time with my new born.I was asking my dad to get me a two wheeler and he told me that he will consider my request only after I get my child since I will drive carefully when I have a child.But to my disappointment he did not keep up to his promise and I decided to get a two wheeler of my own since my employers were giving a loan for purchase of two wheelers.When I decided to get one my dad asked me not to take a loan and he will get a vehicle for me.Finally I got a vehicle TMW 7015 when added all the numbers of the vehicle it was 13 my daughters birthdate.My father-in-laws house number was also 13 Gopal street T.Nagar and 13 was a lucky number for me.With that I was going to the office comfortably and the trafic those days was not much and the gas was only Rs2.75 per liter.My life was happy with Aruna and my dad was showering his love for his grand daughter.My life was completely changed after the arrival of Aruna.Myself and Lalitha were happy with our child.our life starred with Aruna with lot of happiness.

Leave a comment